The Museum of Fine Arts (MFA) has a rich history that dates back to 1876 when the original building first opened its doors in Copley Square. The museum moved to its current location, the Beaux-Arts building on Huntington Avenue, in 1909. Designed in the neoclassical style by native Bostonian Guy Lowell, the majestic structure houses one of the most impressive art collections in the world. Since the beginning of the twentieth century, the MFA has constructed several expansions to the original building in order to accommodate the museum's growing collection.
The renovation and expansion completed in the 2010 construction is extensive, but upholds the integrity of Guy Lowell's architecture. The addition is made from glass and the traditional Deer Isle granite of the original exterior. The new construction yielded a courtyard, a special exhibitions gallery, and a visitor center. The Art of the Americas Wing, however, is the crown jewel of the expansion, boasting over fifty new galleries, plus classrooms, offices, and an auditorium. While built in a contemporary style, the new building takes cues from the historic structure relating to it elegantly, while not mimicking its style.