Built in 1923, the Engine 40 Firehouse originally serviced the Jeffries Point neighborhood of East Boston and eventually housed the Boston Fire Boat. Long vacant, and severely dilapidated, the building was purchased in 2005 by ZUMIX, Inc., a non-profit cultural organization dedicated to building community through the arts. Extensive renovations re-established the building as a prominent fixture in the neighborhood and created a 9,000 square foot facility to increase programming space for ZUMIX students.
The interior was masterfully adapted to house a state of the art performance center, sound studios, practice rooms, classroom space, a recording studio and administrative space, with a few reminders of the firehouse, including the pipe banisters in the stairwells and the original fire pole. The exterior boasts custom made, red firehouse doors, Tudor styling, and the station badge in cast stone on the front of the building. The project is also pursuing a LEED Silver Certification.